Bewildered in Bath

Ever since we moved here in Somerset, we ought to travel around and explore the surrounding areas. But because of the pandemic and lockdowns, we are unable to do so. Coupled with us being new parents and having a baby, I am so much delayed in writing and posting in this blog. Took a break from it all. So this post about our visit in Bath occured before lockdown 3.0. It may be late, nonetheless our experience was a happy one.

As I recall, we were enthralled by the beauty of Bath as soon as we entered it though we didn’t take any photo because we felt that our shots couldn’t justify the beauty of it. Our main goal that day was to visit the very famous bookshop of Bath: Mr. B’s Emporium Of Reading Delights. I was actually curious on why among the community of bookshops does Mr. B stand out. So, heavily pregnant and heaving through the cobbled streets, we made our way to the shop.

Indeed it was a delight to be greeted by a bath tub full of books when you enter the shop! Such first good impression is hard to beat, this even made us more curious as to what the entire shop has to offer. The first floor mainly showcases General Fiction arranged alphabetically. And oh boy, there’s just so many fiction books to choose from.

And yes, they have an upper floor for more of the book delights! Honestly, the whole shop was more than just a delight; it was heaven! Upstairs you could find more non- fiction books such as travel, art, photography, geography, etc.

Also in this floor is where you would find the room where they usually conduct their Bibliotheraphy services. So actually, you could request in advance the Reading Spa Service wherein Mr. B’s staff would gladly talk you through book recommendations based on your preferences. It’s like the happiest form of therapy you could imagine. Of course I wanted to try this, after all I think it’s going to be a while for us before we could return back to Bath. But because of the pandemic, during our visit they have temporarily suspended their Reading Spa service. Oh well, at least I have a legitimiate reason now to go back to this shop.

I almost got stuck in the upper floor, had to remind myself that there are more unexplored parts of the shop. So I went down again, and this time to find my husband who was at the lower ground level. Such a genius display I would say! Various canvas tote bags splayed decoratively on the ceiling. Though I wonder if there’s any story behind it.

So the lower floor level showcases more of books about History, Economics, Politics as well as Biographies. Not my cup of tea, so Ieft my husband browsing in this floor (as he’s more of a History buff) and I headed to the first level to continue my exploration.

My feet led me to this colourful room, which turned out to be the Children’s section. Honestly, it was a magical place!! Colourful books everywhere, not to mention the reading trees! I made a mental note that when my child is old enough to accompany me to book shops, I’m definitely bringing her to Mr. B.

So what makes this shop unique from all other shops? They were named twice as Independent Bookshop Of The Year because of their innovative ideas in book selling. No wonder this place is just unforgettable! If you want to learn more of this shop’s services, head on to their website, you’ll be delighted with what you’ll discover: mrbsemporium

Leave a comment